Arrivederci, Singapore!

We leave for Italy tonight! It’s the first time I’ve ever been there so I have a short list of things that I must do when I’m there, things that I’ve been wanting to do for years:

1. Meet Mario & Luigi

They’re plumbers, they have moustaches and they share nearly identical names to my dad and his twin brother, Mario & Luis. What’s not to love? My girlfriend told me some nonsensical crap about them actually being Japanese. Yeah, and Mel Gibson is actually from New York…

Image

2. Have a conversation with someone in Italian.

My grandad is Italian and while I don’t speak Italian, I speak fluent Spanish and the two are not too far apart from each other so I’m going to strike up conversation wherever possible. If I start to get lost, I’ll rely on the Peter Griffin method…

3. Visit the colosseum.

I’m Australian so the oldest things I ever get to see are the ever-repeating story lines on Neighbours (boom tish!) so it’ll be pretty cool to see something that’s been around for two thousand years. I hope they still have gladiator fights there on the weekends…

"Are you not entertained? No? How about if I sing for you? I can sing, you know. Oh, wait, Les Mis, that's right... I can't sing."

“Are you not entertained?! No? What if I sing for you? I can sing, you know. Oh, wait, Les Mis. You’re right, I’m crap. Show’s over, ladies and gentlemen.”

I can’t wait to leave although I wish we didn’t have to fly to get there (see my previous post about my phobia). Pictures and words to come when I get back. My apologies to my awesome followers if I don’t post anything for another week (all 18 of you! I love you guys!) but I’ll be stuffing my face full of pizza and drinking good coffee for the next few days and might not have time to post anything.

Arrivederci!

2 thoughts on “Arrivederci, Singapore!

    • HAHA, I’ve already gone that route with family! I speak Spanish, they speak Italian and every now and then the twain shall meet but sometimes it’s just downright hilarious when I think I’m closing the gap and they’re looking at me thinking “What?”

Leave a comment